How Many Districts Are There in Budapest?

When it comes to exploring a new city, understanding its administrative divisions can be quite helpful. Budapest, the capital city of Hungary, is divided into different districts. Each district has its own unique characteristics, attractions, and cultural significance. In this blog post, we will explore the districts of Budapest to give you a better understanding of the city’s layout.

What is a District?

A district, also known as a borough or quarter, is a defined area within a city or region. Districts are often organized for administrative, political, or geographical purposes. In Budapest, the districts play a crucial role in managing the city’s affairs and providing services to its residents.

Overview of Budapest’s Districts

Budapest consists of 23 districts, labeled as District I to District XXIII. The numbering starts from the center of the city and radiates outwards. The innermost districts are located on the Pest side of the city, while the outer districts are spread across both the Pest and Buda sides.

Pest Side

The Pest side of Budapest is known for its vibrant cityscape, bustling streets, and numerous attractions. Let’s take a closer look at some of the districts on this side:

  • District V (Belváros-Lipótváros): This district is the heart of Budapest, encompassing important landmarks such as the Parliament Building, St. Stephen’s Basilica, and the Chain Bridge.
  • District VII (Erzsébetváros): Commonly referred to as the Jewish Quarter, this district is known for its unique ruin bars, trendy restaurants, and vibrant nightlife.
  • District IX (Ferencváros): Located south of the city center, this district offers a mix of residential areas and industrial zones. It is home to the Budapest University of Technology and Economics.

Buda Side

The Buda side of Budapest is characterized by its hilly landscape, historical attractions, and residential areas. Let’s explore some of the districts on this side:

  • District I (Várkerület): This district is home to Buda Castle, Matthias Church, and Fisherman’s Bastion, offering stunning views of the city. It is the oldest district in Budapest.
  • District II (Rózsadomb): Known for its upscale residential areas and green spaces, this district is a popular choice for those seeking a peaceful environment away from the city center.
  • District XI (Újbuda): Located on the southern part of Buda, this district offers a mix of residential and commercial areas. It is home to Gellért Hill and the famous Gellért Baths.

Other Important Districts

In addition to the districts mentioned above, Budapest has several other noteworthy districts worth exploring:

  • District VI (Terézváros): Known for its elegant architecture and the iconic Andrassy Avenue, this district is home to the renowned Hungarian State Opera House.
  • District XIII (Angyalföld-Újlipótváros): Situated in the northern part of Pest, this district is a vibrant business and residential area with modern buildings and shopping centers.
  • District XIV (Zugló): Located on the eastern side of Budapest, this district offers a mix of residential areas, parks, and cultural attractions like the Városliget City Park.


Budapest’s districts provide a unique flavor to the city, each offering its own charm and attractions. Whether you are interested in historical landmarks, vibrant nightlife, peaceful residential areas, or modern cityscapes, Budapest has something to offer in every district. Exploring the diverse districts of Budapest will allow you to truly appreciate the beauty and cultural richness of this remarkable city.





Open chat
Hello ????
Can we help you?